More free food, falling from the sky…

If I hadn’t almost walked into it this morning after our walk, I may not have discovered that the mulberry tree at the edge of the yard is bearing fruit. Luckily, I did almost walk into it. The tree is a particularly good one, because it’s located far away from my everyday activities, so there’s no nuisance or bees, and its branches are low to the ground. I picked a pile of berries from eye level – no shaking branches and no reaching – easy as can be.

We’ll eat these raw, and I’ll mix some into a smoothie and my bran muffin batter later today. The tree has tons of berries, so later this week, I’ll add jam to my list of things to do. I love mulberries, and not just because they’re free food, falling from the sky. They’re packed with nutrients and there’s something wonderful and unruly about fruits that stain everything they touch. If I were a fruit, I just might be a mulberry.

~ by kbosin on May 14, 2012.

4 Responses to “More free food, falling from the sky…”

  1. if you were a mulberry, we would like up for your beautiful tattoos…

  2. Yum, my mouth is watering!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,335 other followers

