John, the boy scout….

Here’s my schtick at the farmer’s market in Easton, I say it a thousand times each Saturday:

“SO, we took TWO buckets of water from Spencer Creek this morning, put one bucket in THIS one (I point to the glass bowl on my left) and one in this (I point to the glass bowl on my right). We put some oysters in THIS one, and so………….what’s happening?”  Then, I just wait. If it’s a kid I’m talking to, they usually get it – “um…..the oysters are cleaning the water?”  If it’s an adult, I wait a long time and then they look at me quizzically…..”uh….baby oysters?……..”

Me: “Well, maybe. Look at the water – can you see a difference in the two?”

“oh……..” Then they usually exclaim WOW or something and are amazed. The point of this exercise is to demonstrate that in less than an hour, a little clump of oysters filters the bowl of creek water considerably. People see it and understand that oysters are important to the Bay and we need to keep them growing. Hopefully, they get it enough to – if they live on the water – buy one of Johnny Oyster Seed’s awesome “Revolutions” and grow oysters at their dock, making my morning of schlepping worthwhile – for me, for Johnny and for the Bay. The ones who get it usually get all excited and go grab their friends and then THEY tell the story (“so, they took two buckets of water from Spencer Creek….)

So a boy scout walk by and I nab him – “Hey – Boy Scout! C’mere!” I say the whole thing “so, we took TWO buckets of water from Spencer Creek this morning, put one bucket in here, one bucket in here, put some oysters in THIS one. What’s happening?”

He looks at me, peers into the bowl and says, “well, the bivalves are consuming the phytoplankton………” and he’s looking around for something ELSE that’s going on, God love him, and I say – “you’re HIRED! Talk to my customers!”

Without skipping a BEAT, he smiles and moves behind the table and says to the FIRST person he sees – “Sir? We took TWO buckets of water from Spencer creek this morning,…….”

His name is John and yes, both he and his mother gave permission. LOOK at this kid! Cool, confident, smart, totally fun.

Thanks, John!

~ by kbosin on September 12, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
