kite boarding

..right here in the hood, in Mayberry. I went back down to the beach after a walk and, unfortunately, the boarder, Steve, was packing up. When the wind is out of the west, Mayberry is one of the best places anywhere to kiteboard. But when it’s out of the south, like today – it’s not so good.

What a beautiful sport!!! …..alone, on the water, riding the wind and the waves like a bird………… I always stop to watch when I see them out there, and can’t help but shout “whoooooo-HOOOOO!” every time they lift into the air – sometimes they FLY a very long distance!  Gotta make sure there is only water underneath you, because it’s not like windsurfing, where you can just let go and stop. Momentum in the air can lift you up and who knows where you’ll land. They say you do have some control (operative word here is “some”).

Whenever I watch, I wonder if I would do it. Not “could”, of course I could. But would I like it? I hated sailing, mostly. But this looks more like flight. I fly all the time in  my dreams, quite well, I do know how to fly. I loved sculling, and if I can sit on a skinny boat and row with all my might BACKWARDS, flying along blindly across the water, maybe I’d love kite boarding. At least you can see where you’re heading. 

The good part about kite boarding outside Mayberry is that the cove is about three feet deep, so when you drop the kite, you can just stand up and start over. Look at this guy, whizzing right into the little harbor, with rocks, pilings, boats, docks all around. Clearly, he has control.

It looks so physical, doesn’t it? And exhilarating, for sure. I suppose you need some core strength….

And I LOL. Because me, being me, would be so scared in the first ten minutes I got going, I’d let go. I know I would. When I was on that wretched hobie cat years ago, every time it got tippy, I’d dive off. Which infuriated my partner, and sent the boat over.

I do appreciate the fact that there is a part of me that would like to try it……..I think I’ll leave it at that.

~ by kbosin on September 28, 2010.

One Response to “kite boarding”

  1. I don’t know if I would do it either, but it does kinda look like fun!

Leave a Reply

 
