Kirke makes bagel-making look quick and easy, and…

….it is! And absolutely delicious. Thanks, Kirke! YUM. Recipe below.

New York Style Bagels  – makes 8

1-1/4- 1-1/2 cups of 80-degree water.

2 tsp instant yeast

1 T sugar

1 T vegetable oil

4 cups bread flour

1 1/2 tsp salt

Combine ingredients, knead, divide into 8 balls, and rest the dough 10 to 20 minutes.

Roll balls into 8” cylinders, form into circles around your hand, and roll to seal the seam.

Rest the dough 20 minutes.

Cook in boiling water 1 minute on each side.

Brush with egg wash.

Top with sesame seeds, salt, poppy seeds, sauteed onion, garlic, etc.

 Bake 10 minutes at 425, then turn over and bake 10 more minutes. 

~ by kbosin on October 14, 2010.

5 Responses to “Kirke makes bagel-making look quick and easy, and…”

  1. Wow, they look delicious! I never considered making my own bagels but the recipe doesn’t look so hard, so I’m going to give it a try. I’ll let you know how they turn out.

  2. You are so right, that I think I’ll change the title of this post. I’m pretty sure the only tricky part is in my mind. How about this, instead?

  3. There was a bagel bakery next to Zabars on the upper West Side that would put them in white plastic garbage cans and seen them to the Delis all over the city,

  4. Note to self: delicious and fast and easy! Except – One – add salt early rather than later, and maybe add more salt. Two – Kirke has a convection oven – with my lame little oven here – next time I’ll preheat it early and high – maybe pre-heat to 450, 475, then drop when I put them in – they seemed a little bit like they’d like that. Bottom line – this recipe is a keeper!

Leave a Reply

 
