October’s end…..

is mild…these last days, this last week. Alternately hot, breezy and/or cool, mother nature is slow to change her mind and I’m glad for it. Zonked with miserable back pain for the past three weeks, I hardly can think straight these days, much less notice what’s going on. I’m out to lunch, lately. Unhappily so. I even missed my neighbor Kirke’s phone call last night – he called to say the moon was unbelievably fabulous – with a filmy, gauzy haze around it – “go outside! Look!” Snore. I was out like a light well before 9pm.

Yet tiny changes each day do poke their way into my notice. I walked with Laura around Mayberry yesterday, and we smelled the warmth of summer on the breeze. Photos of denuded trees are sent from family up in the northern part of the watershed, on Fishing Creek, but the colors are only starting here on the Chesapeake. First, some reds. Dogwood, crepe myrtle and poison ivy, high in the branches, shine ruby brilliant red and the woods look deeper, with layers of color peeking through. The first tree to change color on the estate takes her turn, below:

I’ve been watching wooly bear caterpillars all year – starting in June there were so many orange ones, rushing across the roads, wherever I went, I’d swerve to miss hitting them in their big rush to wherever. These days they move slower, and I see less color. I do remember Nana, my paternal grandmother, assuring us that their color had specific weather predictions built inside. The internet tells me no, silly – the color differences have to do with age and wetness of the season. But what do they know, really? I’m as willing to believe Nana as some scientist…..maybe more willing to believe Nana.

I went to hear Joe Dispenza speak the other day in Annapolis, and among the more interesting things he talked about was the fact that every single system of ours is breaking down and shifting right now – and who can argue that? Our environment is changing rapidly, our political systems aren’t working anymore, same for our educational systems, our religious systems, and economic systems – everything is in flux. He predicts that it will be the common man – you and I – who find ways to make this new changing world work, and will shine lights out with new ways of being and living together, one by one. And he thinks that the scientists will be the last to see, the last to know, the last to admit, the last to recognize the new ways. Hmm. Sounds pretty reasonable to me. Here’s yesterday’s wooly caterpillar – she was in no hurry at all, crossing the road.

Nana might have said that – looking at this one, winter will start off with a cold blast, then stay pretty mild, with a big storm at the end. And come to think of it, isn’t that what the farmer’s almanac predicted for our upcoming season? I think so. Imagine that.

Not to say I’ve got anything against science (Scott). I love science – especially xylem and phloem and looking through a microscope. And the power of ten – remember that? But the flexeril that the teenaged physician gave me yesterday hasn’t worked one bit to reduce my back pain, and I’m counting on the acupuncture appointment on Thursday – art/science based on thousands of years of practice.

The days are shorter by leaps lately – right now, at 5:55pm, I barely see the copper sun setting over the water, behind the neighbor’s homes. Although I feel great about waking with the sun in May, these days I leap out of bed – OH NO! It’s 7:30 for God’s sake! And rush around like a ninny.

Weather.com’s ten day prediction tells me that, yes, Kathy, fall is coming. Creeping as it always does. And back pain or not, I’ll do my part to breathe in these last days of warmth while we’ve got them, welcome every single goose returning, and appreciate the changing season to the best of my ability. I do not have to dread winter right this minute, with a sense of impending doom. I can trust there will be plenty of time for misery ahead, but also a fire in the wood stove to keep me company, and friends and neighbors. Some of whom make bread, and bagels, and soups and stews, and an oyster pizza in the outdoor wood-fired brick oven, like the other night – delicious!

~ by kbosin on October 26, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
