the sorriest looking bunch of people…

….I’ve ever seen all at once was in the waiting room of the orthopedic today. A bunch of bent over, moaning, limping, crutch clicking, sad sacks of every stripe – faces all winced up with that combination of inner angst and mental toughness. Ugh. And they tell me it’s a herniated disc blah blah blah and gave me a prescription for physical therapy, more drugs and said in 6 weeks it oughta heal itself. In the meantime, get your slug butt in the pool, you lazy sot, and strengthen your core, yada ya.

Being a radical optimist, I appreciate the fact that I was probably the luckiest person in the waiting room today, and I had to smile when he handed me a prescription for – among other things – massage. A prescription for massage. Doctor’s orders.

Ok, already, doc. I’ll do it. ”

Hey, Kevin……..

~ by kbosin on November 10, 2010.

5 Responses to “the sorriest looking bunch of people…”

  1. Although the diagnosis sucks, it seems consistent w/ your symptoms – hopefully the prognosis is accurate and PT & time will fix you up. Conventional medicine ain’t all bad, especially orthopedics (IMO).

  2. Thanks, Johnny. Yeah – I wanted a reason to get myself back in shape – what with turning 50 next summer, I better get cracking on my birthday suit for next year. Ahem. You know what I mean.

  3. What, no pictures? “Excuse me sir, could you move a little closer to that bent over lady next to you so I can get you both in one shot. Ummm…well, I’m going to put it up on my blog under the headline ‘The sorriest looking bunch of people…’ No?? Oh, c’mon, it’s just one shot!” 🙂

    But seriously, though, I am glad to hear that you’re on the mend. You can get your hubby to do all the Christmas shopping and that be all better by New Year’s Eve!

  4. Yeah….unfortunately you’re going to have to use that powerful imagination, Su – for this group. Sad sack central…..

  5. Sorry Sis! I’m glad you finally went though, it’s been weeks.

Leave a Reply

 
