3 large gulls

…flew silently over us in V formation as we walked to the landing this morning. They seemed purposeful, in trip mode. The fog was lifting and the water shone silvery gray and flat. Things felt funny at the picnic table, so I closed my eyes and listened. Complete silence. I opened my eyes and saw zero gulls, terns, boats – the entire waterscape was flat, quiet and empty. I cannot recall another time down there without birds. One “chee chee” of a small songbird out on the jetty was it.  I took deep breaths and listened to nothing. The tics of dog claws brought me ’round and we walked slowly back home. A cloudy, thick, quiet Monday morning.

~ by kbosin on November 15, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
