Winter solstice morning moon

Long, strange night of fitful sleep. My inner crab pulled by the eclipsing, solstice moon – wrestling from the thick mud, awakened by shrieking wind. I tossed and turned from 1:30 – 3:30, finally getting up, finding my glasses, and wandering from window to window, looking for the orange eclipsing moon. No luck. I knew it was there, could feel it – but the loud wind kept me in and the owl hooted in agreement that – yes, staying inside is a good idea. Wishing that like a crab, I could slide out from this broken shell, my aching back, but nope. Not an exoskeleton here, but an internal one. I took it back to bed, and flipped around for a few more hours, wild crazy dreams of community solstice firework celebrations and a large network of connecting basement caverns, filled with hanging curtains, music and cooking, children playing and snoring husbands. But I’m not in Missouri anymore, with underground caves hiding bootleg operations and the underground railroad, but the Chesapeake, where you can hardly dig a hole that doesn’t fill with water. Weird night. I wake and come out and see that orange moon, dropping. Today is the shortest day of the year, the winter solstice. “…we are nearer to spring than we were in September”….. a new beginning. I can celebrate that.

~ by kbosin on December 21, 2010.

One Response to “Winter solstice morning moon”

  1. More daylight – yea for us !!!!

Leave a Reply

 
