Monday, Jan. 10th, 2011 & Orange flax bran muffins

is a bitter cold day. I took the dogs out for a walk to the landing, but had to come back inside to change into my new, super warm, polartec-lined pants – and it made all the difference. Here’s this morning’s icy view:

and here’s a zoom – brr!

Bufflehead ducks everywhere, popping and diving, I even sat down with my elbows on the picnic table to get a zoomed snapshot of them, but every single time I had one in my viewfinder, by the time I moved my finger, it would be gone – diving underwater, popping up a distance away. For the first time ever, I can understand perhaps the “challenge” of hunting them? Is it about challenge? Because they do move so quickly….it certainly was a challenge for me to catch an image this morning. And I didn’t. Except in my mind’s eye.

It’s a great day for hot muffins – how about these – from Daryl – Orange Bran Muffins – delicious! Recipe follows.

Orange Bran Flax Muffins/Bread

 1 ½ c. oat bran

1 c. flour

1 c. flaxseed, ground

1 c. wheat bran

1 Tbsp. baking powder

½ tsp salt

2 oranges, quartered and seeded

1 c. brown sugar

1 c. buttermilk

½ c. olive oil

2 eggs

1 tsp. baking soda

1 ½ c. golden raisins (optional)

Preheat oven to 375. Butter muffin tins or two bread pans. Combine oat bran, flour, flax, what bran, powder and salt and set aside.

In food processor, combine oranges, brown sugar, buttermilk, oil, eggs and baking soda – blend. Pour orange mix into dry ingredients. Mix till blended – add raisins.

Bake 20 – 24 minutes till toothpick comes out clean. Cool in pan.

~ by kbosin on January 10, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
