Delmarva Word of the Day

Go ahead, say it.

You’re right – CHICKA-mah-COE-mee-coe.

Talk about “mouthfeel”.  Delmarva, I love you.

~ by kbosin on April 12, 2011.

4 Responses to “Delmarva Word of the Day”

  1. It’s interesting to note that in the Chesapeake region, there’s still a whole bunch of waterways that retain their indian names.
    You got your Rappahannock, Piankatank, Potomac, Patuxent, Susquahanna, Choptank, Nanticoke, Pokomoke, Manokin, Occahannock, Pungoteague, Nassawadox, as well as 3 different rivers and 1 creek that all share the name Wicomico (which according to Wikipedia means “a place where houses are built”). And that’s just the half of it!

    • Indeed, I think native american names are still found everywhere across this country, certainly a lot on the eastern seaboard, but I sure love this one. And Wicomico is why-COMB-ee-coe, just in case someone doesn’t know. Another one that feels good when you say it!

  2. I just wanted to say, I for real enjoyed your blog post and I added your link to my wordpress blog today as a recommended site. This is the blog I was looking for! Thanks

Leave a Reply

 
