Wednesday night racing

Watched the Wednesday Night Races out of the Miles River Yacht Club with Daryl and Lila, Kevin’s parents who visited from PA. We went to the Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum to get a good view of the river and a gigantic cruise boat was tied up, taking up the whole gigantic view. So we tucked underneath the lighthouse there, and watched from the shade – which was pretty sweet. A hot evening – even hotter today – 99 degrees as  I type these words on Thursday at 4:21 pm. Ugh.

But it was a beautiful evening for sailboat races, perfect! We hung out for the better part of an hour, watching boats, talking to people and watching two barn swallows frantically feed their hungry brood of four chicks, nested up in the rafters of the lighthouse – a VERY public place to raise a family!

Kevin, Mike and Carrie Kabler are on the smaller boat with the red hull, “Echo” below – they had a great time. Looks like Kevin may be lucky enough to pencil this into his calendar every Wednesday night this season.

 

~ by kbosin on June 9, 2011.

41 Responses to “Wednesday night racing”

  1. Great photos! My wife and I grew up in Maryland and have fond memories of the Chesapeake. Congrats on being Freshly Pressed.

  2. Lots of thoughts on your blog, especially pictures.

    Really enjoyed it!

    Thank you.

    PDI Fashion.

  3. Absolutely stunning images…I SO want to be there!

    🙂

    Thank you for sharing these — and congrats on being Freshly Pressed this Monday morning,

    Mikalee

  4. Thanks to all of you – and for letting me know I was Freshly Pressed! Wow! As you can imagine – I am delighted! Thanks so much for visiting A Chesapeake Journal and for your kind comments!

  5. Congrats on making FP! The last pic is so cute!

  6. Passion is all i can think of when i see the photos!

  7. beautiful night,
    I had felt it. pleased to meet you

  8. I used to live in Ocean View in Norfolk. Always a great site seeing the sailboats out on the water! Thanks for posting the pictures!

  9. […] Wednesday night racing (via A Chesapeake Journal) Posted on June 13, 2011 by Surf Monkey Watched the Wednesday Night Races out of the Miles River Yacht Club with Daryl and Lila, Kevin's parents who visited from PA. We went to the Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum to get a good view of the river and a gigantic cruise boat was tied up, taking up the whole gigantic view. So we tucked underneath the lighthouse there, and watched from the shade – which was pretty sweet. A hot evening – even hotter today – 99 degrees as  I type these words on … Read More […]

  10. I remember watching the races from the Chart House in Annapolis. Thanks for bringing back some great memories.

  11. We saw swallows this weekend at a new nature area and were amazed at how they constantly swoop and glide. It was beautiful. Congrats on being pressed.

    • Thanks so much, Rumbley cottage – I’m glad you love swallows swooping too – fantastic, talk about being “in” life! Thanks for your interest and comments!

  12. Wonderful piece here! And huge congratulations on being Freshly Pressed! Amazing pictures by the way.

  13. So peaceful just looking at the images. Beautiful! Thanks for sharing.

  14. Thank you for sharing, grew up on the harbor at
    Salem, MA brings back memories

  15. Hi There! I loved your post and photos. You are a great story teller. What a lovely way to start my week, on the bay with sailboats. I’m relatively new to blogging and wordpress. It’s nice to meet you. Hope I get a chance to visit the farm one day. Deborah

  16. looks beautiful!

  17. Great pictures! Very nice blog!

  18. Aww… such beautiful tranquil photos! Cannot wait for my summer holidays and the chance to get out of town for a while. What a lovely way to spend an evening!

  19. Beautiful pictures. Thanks for sharing!

  20. Let’s enjoy our sailing.

    http://calogeromiratraveland.wordpress.com

    http://www.twitter.com/CalogeroMiraEng

    http://www.friendfeed.com/CalogeroMira

    http://www.facebook.com/CalogeroMira

  21. Yet another regatta of beauty. Fantastic pictures. Thank you for sharing.

  22. greats thoughts and great pics. I live in Sydney and love watching the boats on the harbour. I’m not a sailor myself but they make for very relaxing sunday afternoons. Great post!

    • Sydney! I had a dear friend who lived in Sydney and used to email me about watching the boats on the harbor! Enjoy! Thanks so much for visiting!

  23. love the pics..so serene, I should have visited Chesapeake when I was there eons ago..sigghhh…i love sailboats and i’d be the perfect gentleman to live there

  24. these are great pics! Kudos

  25. Great post! Have you ever watched the Gov. Cup?? If you enjoyed this I think you will love it. They already had one in 2011, but keep a look out for 2012!

    http://www.smcm.edu/govcup/

  26. Looked very relaxing!

  27. Chesapeake Bay is the most peaceful, relaxing place I have ever been. I could eat seafood from Chesapeake Bay 3 meals a day, every day for the rest of my life.

    Jim Olson Dayton

  28. Thanks for a great story to share.

Leave a Reply

 
