A simple, non-toxic, but very effective fruit fly trap

If you’re like me, you’ve got a ton of fruit coming into the house, and this time of year, the fruit flies can get thick. I fought them for years, till Kirke taught me this simple trick, which works like a charm.

Ready? Get a tall drinking glass, and put a little piece of fruit in.

Next, cut a tiny hole in a coffee filter.

It doesn’t have to be THAT tiny…

Stuff the filter inside of the glass, below the rim, and get some tape.

Start at one end, and tape the filter tight up next to the inside of the glass. It bunches up, but just keep taping. Goal here is to have a tight seal around the filter.

When you’re done, it looks like this.

Voila. You guessed it. The fruit flies enter the hole for the fruit, then try to exit by climbing up the glass. The filter is sealed all the way around, and because they don’t exit through the hole they came through, they can’t get out. Trapped. Try it. Set the trap on your kitchen counter and within an hour, I am not kidding, your problem will begin to solve itself.

You can see them in there. Little buggers……Gotcha!

~ by kbosin on July 7, 2011.

7 Responses to “A simple, non-toxic, but very effective fruit fly trap”

  1. OMG – we must have been separated at birth. I’ll have to post about my flytrap – I started using them last summer when the cloth diaper pail got “buggy” (I have since figured out a better way to seal the pail). Plastic water bottle, pin holes punched in the lid & filled with a splash of red wine. Yours far better environmentally – with the coffee filter and reusable glass, almost zero waste! Isn’t it like magic?

    • Funny! Your fly trap sounds easy and smart! And of course, in case you don’t want to waste all that extra red wine……..

  2. That is AWESOME!!! I am totally going to try that. I wonder if it works on regular house flies too…

  3. […] A simple, non-toxic, but very effective fruit fly trap (via A Chesapeake Journal) This is SUCH a cool idea! I have been looking for a way to collect fruit flies for classroom experiments, and I think this might just be it…  If you’re like me, you’ve got a ton of fruit coming into the house, and this time of year, the fruit flies can get thick. I fought them for years, till Kirke taught me this simple trick, which works like a charm. Ready? Get a tall drinking glass, and put a little piece of fruit in. Next, cut a tiny hole in a coffee filter. It doesn’t have to be THAT tiny… Stuff the filter inside of the glass, below the rim, and get some tape. Start at one end, … Read More […]

    • Super cool that you shared this! I’m almost certian that it does not work with house flies, but our friend Eastern Babe has a house fly simple trap that uses (get this) – red wine. Oh, gotta try it. Stay tuned – she will be sharing it with us.

      • Actually, my trap is for fruit flies too – or something similar that seems to thrive on the water in my wet pail for cloth diapers. Yuck! Have not yet found a solution for house flies. At my last party where we grilled outdoors, I actually made a plate of food for them & set it just outside the gazebo, which did lure them away. I have also become quite the crack shot with a dish towel. If anyone has other ideas for house flies, I am all ears!

  4. Well, sadly, it does not work on house flies. 😦 Still a great idea for fruit flies, though. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
