an evening swim

I went down to the secret beach last evening for a quick dip. No jellyfish (or more specifically, stinging nettles – that one’s for you, Alice) yet! I heard they’re coming and have been seen in Oxford. It’s only a matter of time. Big bummer, because then we’re stuck swimming in pools for the rest of the season. More on them later – this was such a nice evening, I don’t want to ruin my memory of it by thinking about jellyfish. Ugh.

Hey. Who’s that?

Eric and Michelle! Two of my favorite people!

They were having an evening walk, collecting sea glass.

Nice! Michelle took some pictures while I went for a swim – see me out there? That’s my little head, bobbing around. It felt wonderful.

We watched the sunset, and headed home. Perfect little evening. Note to self – remember this one, in the cold, dead winter. Remember being so hot I could hardly stand it, and remember just jumping into the truck and heading to the beach. Remember the sweet feel of the cool water and the soft sand below. Remember just walking slowly, perfectly cooled afterwards, no jackets, no boots, none of that. Just me and my bathing suit and brown skirt and towel. God, I love summer.

~ by kbosin on July 14, 2011.

4 Responses to “an evening swim”

  1. Ahhhhhhhhhhh! I agree totally. Nothing beats summer. Wish I could be out there in that water with you right now! Gorgeous sunset!

  2. Hey! just catching up on your blog. Thanks, darlin’…always so great to spend time with you! kayaking this week, yeah…?

Leave a Reply

 
