They’re back!

Marking the calendar for yet another changing season, I heard the first sounds of returning geese last evening. Kevin called out and we both ran outside. The sky was filled with Vs of geese – about a dozen small groups all flying together, maybe 150 geese in all.

They say that olfactory memory is most dominant, that a dozen years after your trip to France, you can flash back instantly with the smell of a fresh french baguette. But auditory memory triggers are powerful too, and the sounds of the honks ripple through my mind and my heart-center, even. I felt a huge rush out there in the backyard.

And the big wheel turns. I feel a continued, persuasive connectedness to the natural world. I sat yesterday in the bank parking lot star-struck, gazing at a row of euonymous – burning bush. Brilliant scarlet, perfectly shaped. Hustle and bustle and multi-tasking, mobile computing all around, but I remember to stop, take a breath, and look around me. Get still for a moment. Look up. Smell it, feel it, look and listen. Autumn.

~ by kbosin on October 15, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
