Barn by the Dover Bridge

Anyone who drives over the Dover Bridge – crossing the Choptank River – knows this barn. Posed on a hill, this barn is slowly sinking into itself. It was starting to drop in 2008, when we first started crossing the bridge regularly to visit my folks in Delaware. After the two big snows of 2010, it sunk further. Now, it’s a sad face, falling backward. I always meant to get out and tromp around up there with my camera, but honestly….it’s too sad.

When I drove by a few days ago, I stopped on the side of the road and stuck my camera up through the sunroof to capture the front face of the barn before it falls completely. It wasn’t until I got home that I noticed that I managed to capture something else as well – this vulture, drying her wings.

From her perspective, nothing is wrong with this picture. The barn is just fine as it is. Maybe I could learn something from her, and stop judging it. It is what it is. And it’s sinking. But for today, it’s there, and it’s functioning just fine for this creature. Nothing’s broken for her.

~ by kbosin on November 4, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
