wet and windy in wonderland

…today, and I met a small turtle crossing the lane. He ducked into his shell when i jumped out of the truck to say hello, but peered out.

A young’un, he was about the size of the toe of my boot.

We visited for a wet moment, then I took off, and chased a gaggle of turkeys toward the field. Two deer executed perfectly graceful leaps across the lane, and I went on home.

~ by kbosin on April 23, 2012.

6 Responses to “wet and windy in wonderland”

  1. SURE LOOKS LIKE YOU HAD A PERFECT MORNING.
    TURTLES, TURKEYS AND DEER AHHHHH THAT’S THE GOOD THINGS IN LIFE.

  2. that was a box turtle you were visiting with

  3. one day I was driving in DC and saw a box turtle crossing the 4 laned road, using the crosswalk! what could I do but stop and rescue it, even though she/he then pissed on my shoes. I released it a few miles away, far from it’s loved ones but safe. that turtle is probably cursing me to this day.

  4. Gorgeous! Is that on Old Claiborne Rd. by any chance? Lovely sight, wherever it is.

Leave a Reply

 
