dogless days

They were here, taking up all the space they normally do – couch, chairs, shedding everywhere, hiding rawhides under pillows.

Zip got into a seed tick nest, and there was frantic twice daily vacuuming, laundry, laundry, laundry, emergency vet appointments and the sick smell of chemicals.

Then boom.

Kevin took Zip to the cabin. Zoe went home.

And in one instant, for the first time in years, I’ll bet – I’m dogless.

Disconcerting.

Decidedly different.

I went to bed without bringing anyone in from the dewy night, flashing the light around – the only way to get Zip inside when she’s out running.

I woke to no sound – no whining, barks when Lucky came over to do her business, as she always does.

I slept in, free to follow my own instincts, which took me back to dreamland. I can go anywhere, and stay as long as I’d like.

Weird, but…

Definitely delicious.

~ by kbosin on August 11, 2012.

3 Responses to “dogless days”

  1. Funny, like the dog bowl

  2. My son and daughter in princess Anne have an adorable dog they are fostering. Completely vet checked, fixed, and house broken. Would you be interested?

Leave a Reply

 
