going to the other side

When people on the Eastern Shore talk about “the other side”, they mean the western shore of the Chesapeake Bay.

But really, it’s a whole lot more than that.

The other side refers to pace of life, of traffic, of population. It means crowds and strip malls and waiting in long lines to cross the bridge.

It means the beltway, Washington DC, Annapolis, northern Virginia, the streets and alleys of Baltimore.

I-95. Crime. People. Traffic. Pressure (as in blood pressure).

And ethnic restaurants.

I can’t wait!

~ by kbosin on August 21, 2012.

8 Responses to “going to the other side”

  1. YIPPEEEE! 🙂

  2. Kathy,

    Why would you want to go there! Right?

    By the way, wonderful book out The Right Side/christopher tilghman. Thought you would enljoy it.

    Anne (of Anne and Barb)

  3. I loved your little surprise at the end: “I can’t wait!”

  4. Each “side” has its strong points, doesn’t it? 🙂

  5. Had a wonderful day in Annapolis – and you bet, both sides are terrific! I love it all. Maryland is my favorite place.

  6. I used to live “on the other side” and when we crossed the bridge we looked forward to wandering the main street in St. Michael’s, lunch with those amazing soft rolls at Kent Manor Inn, parking for a dime on the meter in Easton, taking a detour to Chestertown, chasing the ducks, breathing the air – maybe even getting as far as the ocean…I miss it.

  7. I was born in Crisfield, md. moved to Annapolis in 1962, back on the shore in Grasonville after 35 + years, glad to be back on the shore, you can have ” the other side “.

    • Rick, you know I’ve gotta agree. But the Thai lunch was delicious. I miss spicy, tasty ethnic food choices. Good thing I like to cook!

Leave a Reply

 
