first osprey of the year…

…spotted near Easton by Erin Fluharty today – almost ten days early in this warm year.

Still, a slow wake, with  Harris Cove looking glassy…

creek

I can smell spring….the shad have run past now, the soil is warming, the buds swell.

Tourists appear, cyclists, sailboats on trailers and kayaks too.

New restaurants.

Spring yawns.

Whatever.

~ by kbosin on March 10, 2013.

5 Responses to “first osprey of the year…”

  1. I saw our osprey a couple of days ago. But they were really active yesterday. We’re surrounded by sycamore trees and their constant dead branch offering make them perfect pickings for the osprey. You can hear the snapping if you’re out there. Mark is excited. We bought this house because of the bird action.

  2. Saw several ospreys here today. One did a fly-by to see what I was doing… it’s interesting to see that birds can be curious.

  3. Glad to hear more ospreys are sighted! I saw my first one March 5 on the Rt 50/301 sign/nest in Grasonville, see my post if interested. That was the earliest I’ve ever seen one, I has glad I had my camera with me to document! 🙂

  4. You should also do a Face Book. This is a fantastic blog for the eastern shore … I also live there 🙂

    • Thanks, Tracey. I’ve asked that question, too – does A Chesapeake Journal need a facebook page? And you’re not the first person to say yes, it does. Thanks for the vote of confidence!

Leave a Reply

 
