softy

She had just shed her shell, emerging inches larger. When Kevin reached in the pot to grab her, she was so weak that she couldn’t even lift a claw in self-defense. She was completely vulnerable and exhausted. I almost wanted to protect her. But that’s ridiculous, since I have no problem throwing hard crabs (males, anyway) into boiling water, cruel as it is. I relish tearing into a pile of crabs, messy as they are – delicious with cold beer, pickles and cheese, as is the custom around here.

I sat the crab on the table and she just looked at me, didn’t even spit like they do. Looking at this photo, I can even recall the limpness of her limbs. She went into the refrigerator and within 24 hours, ended up in pieces on a hook, and turned into two large rockfish.

In terms of food value she was definitely worth more as bait than as a meal herself. But in terms of a living creature……I can’t even go there. I love crabs. And rockfish.

Maybe I’m starting to turn soft myself.

softshell

 

~ by kbosin on August 2, 2014.

2 Responses to “softy”

  1. Isn’t interesting how being ‘soft’ has so many negative connotations – weak, vulnerable, defenseless, while hardness is related to strength and other ‘good’ things…

    You can tell by looking at your photograph that you really saw her in a very authentic moment… and that moment of wishing to protect…that was a very authentic feeling… in my opinion… not ridiculous at all…

    We each hope to grow and expand… and to do that entails great risk… and in the human world it includes the possibility that others will judge our value and let us know what they think of our grand ideas for our lives…

    Our friend, Pete, doesn’t eat anything with a face… and this picture gives us an opening, I think, to some of the reasons why… Perhaps part of the reason I am a vegan is my wish to be seen, without my hard shell… to be valued for who I am… as I am…

    Thanks, Kathy for giving me a way to think more about all this opening to life stuff…

    Patti

    “You yourself, as much as anybody in the entire universe, deserve your love and affection” ― Gautama Buddha ________________________________

Leave a Reply

 
